The water is warming up and it’s getting to be great weather to be out on the boat.  I wanted to cover a few boating and fishing basics for people coming to Bulls Bay or Cape Romain.  For more information on local boating and fishing visit The Village Community Forum.

Boating Rules and Regulations

There is no license required to operate a boat (or jet ski) in South Carolina if you are 16 years older or older. 

If you are a younger than 16 years old you must either be accompanied by a person at least 18 years old who is not under the influence of alcohol or you must pass a boating safety course approved by South Carolina Department of Natural Resources. 

* Boating Under the Influence is illegal and can result in jail time, fines, and loss of drivers license.

Fishing Rules and Regulations

fishing in South CarolinaYou will need a saltwater fishing license if you are fishing from a boat or transporting fish caught in a boat.  This license is good for one year and last from July 1st to June 30th and costs $10 for South Carolina residents and $35 for non-residents.   You can also purchase a 14 day license for $5 for residents and $11 for non-residents.

Purchase the licenses online at 

or over the phone by calling 1-866-714-3611

Bulls Bay Supply in McClellanville no longer sells fishing licenses, but here is a list of stores where you can purchase them: Charleston County or Georgetown County.

Here are the catch limits for the big three sport fish.  Click Here for a full copy of the fishing rules and regulations including limits for other species from the Department of Natural Resources website. 

Spottail Bass (AKA Red Drum) – 2 per person per day, 15” minimum and 24” maximum

Spotted Seatrout – 10 per person per day, 13” minimum

Flounder – 20 per person per day, 12” minimum

Boat Landings and Permits

McClellanville’s “Robert E. Ashley” Landing – located at the end of Pinckney Street, turn right at the “Town of McClellanville” Sign.  A permit is required to use this landing and parking is limited.  Permits can be purchased from the Town Hall (2 story building in front of the landing) or Bulls Bay Hardware at the intersection of Hwy 17 and Hwy 45.  Annual permits (stickers) cost $50 for town residents and $100 for non-residents or weekend permits (hang tags) can be purchased for $30.  Only vehicles with trailers and permits can park within the fenced in area and there is no parking of trailers on any of the streets in McClellanville. 

Buck Hall Recreation Park  – Located on Highway 17 a few miles South of McClellanville – $5 entrance fee per vehicle or $25 annual pass.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Skip to content